The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Texas has two MFT licenses, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT Associate), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements
- Graduated from a program accredited by COAMFTE with a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or a related mental health field with equivalent coursework.
- Or, another accredited program that includes a practicum of 9 credit hours or 12 months.
- Passed the AMFTRB exam and a jurisprudence exam.
- Must submit a supervisory agreement form.
- This license is valid for two years, and may be renewed biennially for up to six years.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for the LMFT Associate license.
- Completion of two years of full time supervised work experience.
- Must include at least 3,000 hours of board-approved, supervised marriage and family therapy practice experience.
- 1,500 hours of which must be in direct clinical services, with 750 hours of working with couples or families.
- 200 hours must be directly supervised, 100 of which must be individual supervision.
- Up to 500 hours may be transferred from the practicum completed during a COAMFTE accredited doctoral program.
- Completion of 200 hours of direct supervision, 100 of which must be individual.
- More details on supervision requirements.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Texas MFT licensure
Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Texas licensure, as determined by the Board.
- Pass the jurisprudence exam.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information