The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Minnesota has two MFT licenses, Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related topic with equivalent coursework, from a regionally accredited program.
- Must include a practicum/internship with at least 300 hours of supervised direct client contact, 150 hours of which must be with couples and/or families.
- Pass the exam required by the Board.
- This license is valid for one year, and may be renewed annually for up to six years.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for Associate licensure.
- Passed the exam approved by the board.
- Submit two letters of endorsement from other LMFTs, either licensed in Minnesota, or another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent licensing requirements.
- Completion of at least two years of post-degree supervised experience as an MFT.
- Includes a minimum of 4,000 hours.
- 1,000 hours must be direct client contact under a Board-approved supervisor.
- 500 hours of which must be with couples, families, or similar relational groups.
- 200 hours must be directly supervised, at a ratio of one hour of supervision for every five hours of practice. At least 100 hours must be individual supervision.
- Must be supervised under a board-approved supervisor.
- More details on supervision requirements
Licensure by Reciprocity (Portability)
Read more details on Minnesota MFT licensure
Minnesota Board of Marriage and Family Therapy
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Minnesota licensure, as determined by the Board.
- An applicant that has been licensed in another state for at least 5 years preceding application for Minnesota licensure will be considered to have met the education and experience requirements.
- All applicants must have taken and passed the national exam. All applicants must pass the state exam.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information