The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Colorado has one MFT license, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Master's or doctoral degree from an accredited program in marriage and family therapy, or its equivalent, as determined by the Board.
- Must complete a practicum or internship
- Completion of two years (2,000 hours) of post-master's, or one year (1,500 hours) of post-doctoral practice in individual and marriage and family therapy.
- Includes 1,500 hours of direct face-to-face client contact, under a Board-approved supervisor.
- 1,000 of those hours must be experience with couples or families.
- Must be supervised under a board-approved supervisor.
- For every 1,000 hours of supervised practice, applicants must receive 50 hours of supervision, of which at least 25 hours must be face-to-face individual supervision. These hours must be reasonably distributed over each 1,000 hours.
- Pass an exam prescribed by the Board, and a jurisprudence exam.
- More details on how to become a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist in Colorado.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Find out more about Colorado MFT licensure in the regulations
Colorado State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners
- Must demonstrate completion of the above qualifications.
- Pass the national exam, or a state exam equivalent. Must pass a jurisprudence exam.
- At least two years of post-master's or one year of post-doctoral practice prior to licensure, OR
- Attests to active practice of marriage and family therapy for at least two years.
- Active practice refers to, on average, at least 20 hours a week, with no more than six months absence from practice.
- Must report any disciplinary actions that have been taken against the applicant, or any current proceedings.
- Must provide verification of licensure in each jurisdiction that the applicant has ever held a license.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing professional development for each two-year renewal cycle, typically starting and ending on odd years.
State Officials & Legislative Information