The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Arizona has two MFT licenses, Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy, or another behavioral science topic with equivalent coursework, from a regionally, or COAMFTE accredited program.
- Must include a practicum/internship with at least 300 hours of supervised direct client contact.
- Pass the exam prescribed by the Board (AMFTRB exam).
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for Associate licensure.
- Completion of two years of post-degree work experience as an MFT.
- 3,200 hours of supervised work experience.
- At least 1,600 hours of direct client contact, 1,000 of which are with families and/or couples.
- 100 hours of direct clinical supervision, 75 of which must be done by a Board-approved LMFT.
- For one month of practice, there must be at least one hour of direct clinical supervision.
- At least 25 hours must be individual supervision.
- Must be supervised under a board-approved supervisor.
- More details on supervision requirements
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Arizona MFT licensure
Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- Effective August 27, 2019: Universal Recognition Path to Licensure by Endorsement.
- Must have been licensed in the same discipline, at the same practice level, for at least one year, and have an established Arizona residency.
- For more information on this pathway to licensure, please go here .
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information