The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Wyoming has two MFT licenses, Provisional Marriage and Family Therapist (PMFT), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Provisional License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a COAMFTE-accredited, CACREP-MCFC-accredited program, or a program deemed substantially equivalent by the Board.
- Includes a supervised practicum.
- An applicant who do not satisfy the education requirements may be granted a provisional license provided they are deficient no more than six semester hours, and have met the requirement for coursework in professional orientation or ethics, and the practicum.
- A plan established to complete hours of work experience and supervision.
- This license is non-renewable, but may be extended for good cause.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the education and internship requirements for the MFT Associate designation.
- Passed the exam approved by the board.
- Completion of 3,000 hours of post-degree supervised clinical training/work experience as an MFT.
- 1,200 hours of which must be direct client contact hours.
- 500 of the 1,200 hours must be direct clinical services to couples and families.
- 100 hours must be directly supervised by a designated qualified clinical supervisor.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Wyoming MFT licensure
Wyoming Mental Health Professions Licensing Board
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Wyoming licensure, as determined by the Board.
- Applicants may be issued a provisional license to practice under supervision while completing deficiencies identified and required by the Board.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information