The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
West Virginia has two MFT licenses, Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Provisional License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related topic with equivalent coursework, from an accredited program.
- Must include a supervised practicum, with a minimum of 300 direct client contact hours, half of which must be with couples and families.
- Pass the exam prescribed by the Board
- A supervisory agreement established to complete hours of work experience and supervision.
- A provisional license is valid for 36 months, and may be renewed once for an additional 24 months.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for Provisional licensure.
- Completion of post-graduate work experience.
- Master's level applicants must complete a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised MFT experience in not less than two years.
- Doctoral level applicants must complete a minimum of 1,500 hours of supervised MFT experience in not less than one year.
- At least half of the supervised experience hours must be direct client contact.
- Half of these hours must be directly working with couples and families.
- A minimum of one hour of direct supervision is required for every 20 hours of practice.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on West Virginia MFT licensure
West Virginia Board of Examiners in Counseling
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for West Virginia licensure, as determined by the Board.
- This may be waived if the applicant has been actively practicing as an LMFT for at least five of the last seven years in another jurisdiction.
A license must be renewed annually. Continuing education is reported every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information