The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Virginia has one MFT license, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related topic with equivalent coursework, from an accredited program
- Must include a supervised practicum/internship, of at least 600 hours, including 240 hours of direct client contact. 200 hours must be with couples, families, and/or groups.
- Completion of supervised residency.
- Must submit an application to the Board before starting residency.
- Consists of 3,400 hours of residency, 2,000 of which are documented hours of clinical marriage and family services.
- 1,000 hours must be face-to-face client contact.
- At least 200 hours of in-person supervision, at least half are supervised by a LMFT.
- No more than 200 hours may be acquired through group supervision.
- After completing the supervision requirements and submitting an application, pass the Board approved exam.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Virginia MFT Licensure
Virginia Board of Counseling
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The educational and supervision experience requirements must be comparable to those required in Virginia.
- If the educational and supervision experience requirements do not meet Virginia's standard, you must:
- Provide documentation of education and supervised experience that met the requirements of the other jurisdiction, as verified by an official transcript and a certified copy of the original application materials.
- Provide evidence of clinical practice as an MFT for 24 of the last 60 months immediately preceding your application in Virginia.
- Evidence of a passing score on an exam required for MFT licensure in the other jurisdiction.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every year on or before June 30.
State Officials & Legislative Information