The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Vermont has one MFT license, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- A graduate degree in, or focusing on, marriage and family therapy from a regionally-accredited program, or a program accredited by COAMFTE.
- Must meet the course requirements if not already a board-approved program.
- Must include a supervised internship/practicum consisting of a minimum of 500 hours of direct marriage and family therapy services.
- Passed the exam approved by the board.
- Completion of two years of post-degree supervised practice as an MFT.
- In order to complete supervised practice, the applicant must be entered on the Roster of Psychotherapists who are Nonlicensed and Noncertified.
- A minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised practice with individual, couple, family, or group therapy from a systems perspective.
- 2,000 hours must be direct service, half of which must be with couples and/or families.
- 1,000 hours must be continued clinical practice or indirect services.
- 100 hours must be face-to-face supervision, with a required one hour for every 30 hours of practice. 50 hours must be individual supervision.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Vermont MFT licensure in the Statutes and Administrative Rules
Vermont Board of Allied Mental Health
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Vermont licensure, as determined by the Board.
- Must still complete the exam required by the Board.
- May also be granted a license if the applicant has been actively practicing no fewer than five years.
- Active practice means practicing marriage and family therapy more than an average of 20 hours per week for 48 weeks per year.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information