The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Utah has two MFT licenses, Associate Marriage and Family Therapist, and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements:
- Graduated from a COAMFTE-accredited or Board-approved accredited program.
- A completed application and application fee.
- This license is limited to the amount of time it takes to complete the supervision and clinical training requirements for full licensure.
- Associate License can be extended to a maximum of one year after the minimum requirements for full licensure have been met.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements:
- Must meet all the requirements for associate licensure.
- Passed the exam approved by the board.
- Completion of 4,000 hours of marriage and family therapy training experience.
- In not less than two years.
- Must be supervised under a board-approved supervisor.
- Includes 100 hours of direct supervision
- Must include a minimum of 1,000 hours of mental health therapy.
- Includes two hours of suicide prevention training, by a Board-approved provider.
- More details on experience requirements.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability):
Read more details on Utah MFT licensure in the Administrative Code.
Utah Board of Marriage and Family Therapy
- Must be currently licensed as an MFT in another state, with substantially equivalent standards.
- Must have practiced marriage and family therapy for a minimum of 4,000 hours, including 1,000 in mental health therapy.
- Verification from employer.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years, in October on even years.
State Officials & Legislative Information