The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Tennessee has one MFT license, Licensed Marital and Family Therapist (LMFT). There is also a temporary license for applicants completing their requirements.
Temporary License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or a related topic with equivalent coursework from a regionally accredited program.
- Must include a supervised practicum/internship with at least 300 hours of experience.
- Must have an identified supervisor to complete the the supervised experience required for full licensure.
- May only represent themselves as a "marital therapy intern" or a "family therapy trainee."
- This license is valid for three years, or until the Board grants or denies a full license.
Marital and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for the temporary license.
- Once deemed eligible by the Board, pass a written and oral exam prescribed by the Board.
- Includes a jurisprudence exam.
- Completion of two years of post-degree clinical experience as an MFT.
- A minimum of 1,000 hours of clinical practice.
- 200 hours must be directly supervised by a Board-approved supervisor.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Tennessee MFT licensure in the Rules and Statutes
Tennessee Board of Licensed Professional Counselors, Licensed Marital and Family Therapists and Licensed Pastoral Therapists
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- A license may be granted to an applicant that hold a clinical membership with AAMFT.
- The applicant will still be required to take an oral exam.
- To gain licensure by reciprocity: provide the Board with materials demonstrating the licensing requirements of the previous state meet or exceed the requirements of Tennessee.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education annually. Note that license renewal is biennial.
State Officials & Legislative Information