The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
South Carolina has two MFT licenses, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT/A) .
Marriage and Family Therapist Associate License Requirements
- Must have a Master's or Doctoral degree from a COAMFTE-accredited program or another accredited program with a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours with similar educational standards.
- Must include a supervised practicum of 500 hours of face-to-face client contact over a minimum of 12 months; 40% of which must be relational. 100 hours of clinical supervision must be provided by a marriage and family therapy supervisor.
- Pass an exam approved by the Board.
- Must have a plan to complete supervised experience.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Meet all of the requirements for the LMFT/A designation. Must already have a current, active, and unrestricted Marriage and Family Therapy Associate license.
- Must complete, in no less than two years, 1,500 hours of supervised experience.
- 1,380 hours of client contact.
- A minimum of 120 hours must be supervised by an LMFT.
- Half of the supervision hours must be individual, the other half may be group supervision.
- Read more about supervision requirements.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on South Carolina MFT licensure
South Carolina Board of Examiners for Licensure of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, Addiction Counselors, and Psycho-Educational Specialists
- Applicants must provide evidence that they meet South Carolina’s requirements for licensure.
- This includes photocopies of course descriptions for educational requirements, and signatures from previous supervisors. If previous supervisors are unavailable, contact your state’s licensure board to furnish proof of supervised hours.
- Applicants that have 5 years of active practice in another state with a license in good standing within a 10-year period immediately preceding their application will be considered to have met South Carolina's requirements for licensure.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information