The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
New Mexico has two MFT licenses, Licensed Asssociate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements
- Graduated from an accredited program with a minimum of a master's degree in marriage and family therapy, counseling, or a related subject with equivalent coursework.
- Must complete the clinical core curriculum for marriage and family therapy.
- A plan established to complete hours of work experience and supervision.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for an associate license.
- Completion of two years of postgraduate work experience as an MFT.
- Includes at least 1,000 hours of marriage and family therapy clinical contact.
- Completion of 200 hours of direct supervision, 100 of which must be individual.
- An hour of face-to-face supervision for every ten hours of client contact.
- Pass the exam prescribed by the Board.
- A temporary license will be granted to individuals that meet all licensure requirements except examination. A temporary license will expire upon failure to take or pass the exam. This license is only valid for 6 months.
- A temporary license may only be reissued up to three times in order to pass the exam.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on New Mexico MFT licensure
New Mexico Board of Counseling and Therapy Practice
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- Must be currently licensed in another jurisdiction for at least five years.
- If not licensed for five years in another jurisdiction:
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for New Mexico licensure, as determined by the Board.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information