The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
New Hampshire has one MFT license, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT). There is also an MFT Intern designation.
Registered Candidate Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related topic with equivalent coursework, from a COAMFTE or regionally accredited program.
- Must include a one-year practicum or internship with a minimum of 300 hours of direct client contact, in residence at the institution granting the degree.
- Submit a plan of supervision and training, with an identified supervisor to complete the supervised experience requirement for full licensure.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the education and internship requirements for the MFT Intern/candidate designation.
- Passed the exam required by the Board, after seeking approval to sit for the exam.
- Completion of two years of post-degree supervised experience as an MFT.
- A minimum of one hour per week of direct face-to-face individual supervision is required.
- 3,000 hours of supervised experience are required.
- 1,000 of which must be direct face-to-face client contact with individuals, families, and couples.
- Of the 1,000 hours, 200 hours must be directly supervised by an AAMFT approved supervisor, or a Board-approved alternate.
- 100 hours of direct supervision during COAMFTE graduate training may be counted towards this post-degree requirement.
- Up to 500 hours of supervised experience during COAMFTE graduate training may counted towards this post-degree requirement.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on New Hampshire MFT licensure in the Administrative Rules
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for New Hampshire licensure, as determined by the Board.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information