The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Missouri has two MFT licenses, Provisional Licensed Marital and Family Therapist (PLMFT), and Licensed Marital and Family Therapist (LMFT). There is also a Supervised Marital and Family Therapist designation (SMFT).
Provisional License Requirements
- A minimum of a master's degree in marital and family therapy or a related subject with equivalent coursework from a regionally accredited program.
- Must include a practicum.
- Passed the exam approved by the board.
- Must have an application for supervision or licensure already filed with the State Committee.
- This license is valid for two years, and may be extended at the discretion of the State Committee.
- It is not required to have a Provisional license to obtain supervision hours. May also complete supervised experience without a license, under the title Supervised Marital and Family Therapist (SMFT). The SMFT must still register with the State Committee.
Marital and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for the PLMFT.
- Master's Level: Completion of 3,000 hours of supervised experience as an MFT.
- 1,500 hours of which must be direct client contact.
- One hour a week, or two hours every two weeks must be individual face-to-face supervision.
- Must complete a minimum of 200 hours of face-to-face supervision, half of which must be individual.
- Completion of 200 hours of direct supervision, 100 of which must be individual.
- Doctoral or Specialist's Degree Level: Completion of 1,500 hours of supervised experience.
- 750 hours of which must be direct client contact.
- Licensure FAQs.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Missouri MFT licensure
Missouri State Committee of Marital & Family Therapists
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Missouri licensure, as determined by the State Committee.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
- To renew an LMFT license: 40 contact hours.
- 20 hours must be formal continuing education.
State Officials & Legislative Information