The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Mississippi has two MFT licenses, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFTA), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements
- A minimum of a master's degree in marriage and family therapy from a COAMFTE-accredited program.
- Must include a 12-month practicum with 500 clinical experience hours.
- Pass the AMFTRB exam.
- Three professional reference letters from mental health professionals.
- An approved plan to complete the post-graduate supervised experience.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for the MFT Associate license.
- Passed the AMFTRB exam.
- Three letters of professional reference from mental health professionals.
- Completion of two years of post-degree work experience as an MFT.
- Must include 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact.
- Up to one year of experience completed during a doctoral internship may be counted towards the required two years.
- Completion of 200 hours of direct supervision, 50 of which must be individual.
- Up to 100 hours of clinical supervision obtained during graduate training may be counted towards the required 200 hours of direct supervision.
- At least 100 hours must be supervised by an AAMFT approved supervisor.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Mississippi MFT licensure
Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage & Family Therapists
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Mississippi licensure, as determined by the Board.
- The applicant must also have a license in good standing in the other state for the preceding five consecutive years.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information