The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Louisiana has two MFT licenses, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT), and Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (PLMFT).
Provisional Marriage and Family Therapist Requirements
- Graduated from a COAMFTE-accredited, or a CACREP-accredited program with a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy.
- Must complete the required supervised post-graduate experience while under this license.
- Must submit a plan for supervision to the Advisory Committee.
- Must apply for full LMFT licensure within six years of attaining PLMFT, or applicant must reapply for PLMFT.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for the Provisional MFT designation.
- Pass the exam prescribed by the Advisory Committee.
- Completion of 3,000 hours of post-graduate marriage and family therapy practice.
- Must include 2,000 hours of direct client contact. Up to 500 hours of direct client contact experience earned during graduate training may be counted.
- 1,000 hours may be indirect work experience or other professional activities.
- At least 200 hours must be qualified supervision, 100 of which must be individual supervision.
- Read more details about Louisiana MFT licensure.
- LMFT FAQ.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Louisiana MFT licensure in the Administrative Code
Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The Board shall issue a license to any person who has been licensed as a marriage and family therapist and has actively practiced marriage and family therapy for at least five years in another jurisdiction.
- Must have passed the AMFTRB exam.
- Must provide verification for 40 continuing education hours within two years of the date of application for licensure endorsement.
- Anyone licensed in another jurisdiction for less than five years must verify that the requirements for licensure in the original jurisdiction meet or exceed the requirements for licensure in Louisiana.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
- To renew an LMFT license: 40 hours.
- To renew a PLMFT license: 20 hours.
State Officials & Legislative Information