The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Kansas has a tiered MFT license, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) and Licensed Clinical Marriage and Family Therapist (LCMFT).
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related field with equivalent coursework.
- Pass the national exam at the basic level.
- Applicants who are waiting to take the examination may apply for a temporary license.
- Must have an application on file twelve weeks prior to taking the national exam.
Clinical Marriage and Family Therapist Requirements
- Must be currently licensed as a Marriage and Family Therapist or meet the same qualifications.
- Must complete 4,000 hours of supervised clinical experience.
- 1,500 hours must be direct clinical contact.
- At least 50 hours of individual clinical supervision, with the supervisor and the supervisee in the same physical space.
- At least 100 hours of clinical supervision with one supervisor and no more than six supervisees.
- At least one hour of clinical supervision is required during each week in which the applicant has 15 or more hours of direct client contact.
- At least two separate clinical supervision sessions per month, of which one session must be individual.
- Read more about regulations related to supervision requirements .
- For applicants with a doctoral degree, at least half of the postgraduate supervised experience must be completed.
- Pass the national exam at the clinical level.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Kansas MFT licensure
Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, including any history of disciplinary actions.
- Two pathways to licensure by endorsement:
- Applicant must provide evidence of substantially equivalent licensing requirements by the other jurisdiction, or
- Applicant must provide evidence of continuous licensure for 5 years, including evidence of active practice (15 hours per week for nine months out of each year) for five years immediately preceding application for a license in Kansas.
- If applying for a clinical-level license, the applicant must demonstrate competency to diagnose and treat mental disorders
- Additional information on license portability in Kansas.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every 24 months.
State Officials & Legislative Information