The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Iowa has two MFT licenses, Temporary Licensed Marital and Family Therapist, and Licensed Marital and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Temporary License Requirements
- A master's or doctoral degree in marital and family therapy, from a program accredited by COAMFTE.
- May also have a master's or doctoral degree in a related topic with equivalent coursework, or a regionally accredited program with equivalent content.
- Must include a supervised practicum with at least 300 clock hours.
- Pass an exam prescribed by the Board.
- Must submit a plan to complete the supervised experience requirement for full licensure.
- This license is valid for three years and may be renewed at the discretion of the Board.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the requirements for temporary licensure.
- Completion of two years of post-degree work experience as an MFT.
- Completion of at least 3,000 hours of marital and family therapy experience.
- 1,500 hours of direct client contact.
- Completion of 200 hours of direct supervision, 100 of which must be individual.
- Includes a minimum of 25% of all clinical supervision in person.
- More details on supervision requirements.
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Iowa MFT licensure
Iowa Board of Behavioral Science
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Iowa licensure, as determined by the Board.
- If the applicant cannot provide acceptable official transcripts, or verify clinical experience, the Board may grant a license to an applicant that has been licensed and practicing for five years in another state.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.
State Officials & Legislative Information