The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Delaware has two MFT licenses, Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).
Associate License Requirements
- Graduate degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related topic with equivalent coursework, from an accredited program.
- Must include a supervised internship or practicum with at least 300 hours of direct client contact, 150 of which must be with couples or families.
- Pass the AMTRB exam with prior approval from the Board to sit for the exam.
- A written plan to complete the supervised experience requirement for full LMFT licensure.
- Must be licensed as an associate to complete the supervised experience for full licensure.
- Read more about Associate licensure.
Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements
- Completion of the LAMFT requirements.
- Completion of two years of post-degree supervised experience as an MFT.
- Includes a minimum of 3,200 hours of marriage and family therapy services, at least 1,600 under direct supervision acceptable by Board.
- 500 hours of couple and family therapy, 500 hours of individual therapy
- 100 hours of face-to-face clinical supervision. Supervision by live video conferencing should not exceed 50 hours.
- Read more about supervision
Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)
Read more details on Delaware MFT licensure
Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals
- Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
- The requirements of licensure in the previous state must be equivalent or exceed the requirements for Delaware licensure, as determined by the Board.
- Applicants with a license from a state with requirements not substantially equivalent to Delaware licensure requirements may receive a license if they've had their license for at least five years, and passed the AMFTRB exam.
In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years, on or before September 30th of even-numbered years.
State Officials & Legislative Information