Arkansas State Resources

Licensure

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of marriage and family therapy. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Arkansas has two MFT licenses, Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).

Associate License Requirements

  • A graduate degree in marriage and family therapy, or a related topic with equivalent coursework, from a program accredited by COAMFTE or CACREP or has equivalent standards. 
    • Completion of an internship (12-month minimum) during the program, or as a post-degree experience. 
  • Pass an exam approved by the Board. 
  • A minimum of four references required: (2) from full-time faculty members in the degree granting program, (1) supervisor of clinical work, and (1) from another mental health professional.
  • A plan established to complete hours of work experience and supervision.

Marriage and Family Therapist License Requirements

  • Complete the requirements for Associate licensure. 
  • Passed the exam approved by the board.
  • A minimum of four references required: (2) from full-time faculty members in the degree granting program, (1) supervisor of clinical work, and (1) from another mental health professional.
  • Completion of three years of post-degree, full-time, supervised work experience as an MFT.
    • Up to one year of experience may be counted towards this requirement if the applicant has 30 semester hours of graduate work beyond a master's degree. 
    • 2,200 hours of direct client contact, and 800 hours of indirect client contact. For the first 500 hours of supervised experience, no indirect hours will be applicable. 
    • A minimum of 1,500 hours must be direct client contact with families, couples, or groups. 
    • Direct supervision must be obtained at a ratio of one hour of supervision for every 10 hours of client contact for the first 500 hours of direct client contact. Then a ratio of one hour for every 20 hours of client contact.
      • A minimum of 300 hours of direct supervision is required. 
      • Group supervision may not exceed over half of direct supervision. 
    • Must be supervised under a board-approved LMFT supervisor. 
  • More specific requirements can be found in the rules and regulations.

Licensure by Endorsement (Portability)

  • Must provide verification of licenses held in other jurisdictions, with evidence of no disciplinary action.
  • Applicants who have maintained their license in another state for a minimum of three years may be eligible for licensure by endorsement. They must provide verification of meeting the minimum educational requirements for licensure in Arkansas. 
  • Applicants who have not taken an exam will be required to take the AMFTRB exam.
  • Applicants that are licensed in another jurisdiction that requires only 2,000 hours of client contact will be required to document an additional 1,000 hours of supervised client contact. 

Read more details on Arkansas MFT licensure
Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling and Marriage & Family Therapy


Continuing Education

In order to renew a license, a licensee must complete continuing education every two years.

Required hours

 

Additional Resources

State Officials & Legislative Information

AAMFT Resources

Contact Information

Understanding the Benefits of Marriage and Family Therapy

Find a Therapist

If you or someone you know is experiencing distress, therapy with a marriage and family therapist (MFT) can help.

Find an MFT

TENEO

Continuing education designed specifically for MFTs. Explore the 85 online courses offered and expand your knowledge on a variety of topics. Start your personalized online classroom and earn CE credits at your own pace.

Earn CEs